The Government have created the posts of the Divisional Commissioners in place of the Divisional Officers from March 1958 with the passing of the Bombay Commissioners Act, 1958. The posts of Commissioners had existed in the old Bombay State but were abolished in 1950. The same were revived after the re-organisation of the States because of the increase in the area of the State. The jurisdiction of the Divisional Commissioner, Pune Division, extends over the districts of Pune, Sangli, Kolhapur, Ahmadnagar and Satara. besides Sholapur.

The Divisional Commissioner. Pune, supervises the working of the revenue offices, exercises executive and administrative powers delegated to him by Government and conferred upon him by law from time to time and undertakes general inspection of offices of all the departments in Sholapur district. He also co-ordinates and supervises the activities of all divisional heads of departments and district officers with particular reference to planning and development, and integrates the administrative set-up in the incoming areas. He is also the coordinating authority as far as the district administration and Zilla Parishad are concerned, and heads the selection body for the non-gazetted non-technical employees of the Zilla Parishad.