Organisation: With the formation of the Zilla Parishad, cooperation has come under the dual control of the Zilla Parishad and the State Government. The Co-operation department of the Zilla Parishad is responsible for the registration, organisation, supervision, inspection, etc., of all types of co-operative societies in rural areas having authorised share-capital up to Rs. 50,000 or working capital up to Rs. 5 lakhs. It has also to control and supervise all regulated markets. All other schemes are looked after by the department in the State sector.

The Commissioner for Co-operation and Registrar of Co-operative Societies, Maharashtra State, Pune, is the head of the Co-operation department at the State level. He is assisted by the Divisional Deputy Registrars and Divisional Assistant Registrars. The Sholapur district which falls in the Pune division is placed in the charge of the District Deputy Registrar, Co-operative Societies, Sholapur. He is assisted by two Assistant Registrars whose jurisdiction extends over an area specified by the Deputy Registrar. The Assistant Registrars also work as Assistant Registrars of Money-lenders for their respective jurisdictions.

Since the formation of the Zilla Parishad one of the three Assistant Registrars has been transferred to it. He works as the Industries and Co-operation Officer of the Zilla Parishad, and is directly responsible to the Chief Executive Officer. He is delegated certain powers of the Registrar of Co-operative Societies so far as registration of new societies and amendments to the bye-laws of certain types of societies coming under the purview of the Zilla Parishad, are concerned. He has also to work under the co-operation committee of the Zilla Parishad.

Supervising unions: The main responsibility of the supervising unions is to inspect and supervise the agricultural primary societies in the district. All these seva societies are affiliated to the taluka co-operative supervising unions.

District Supervision Committee: The district supervision committee is an ad-hoc body which has taken up the task of appointment and allotment of work to the supervising unions. It works as a link between taluka supervising unions and the State Board of Supervision.

Auditing: The Registrar or the person authorised by him audits every society once a year. The audit staff of the district consists of one Special Auditor, Co-operative Societies, Sholapur, auditors and sub-auditors. The audit staff in the district is under the administrative control of Divisional Special Auditor. A Special Auditor at the district level makes arrangement for audit of all societies in the district, for which purpose a list of societies at the end of 30th June, i.e., co-operative year is prepared and societies are allotted to different members of audit staff, according to the volume of business and size of societies. The Act also provides for appointment of certified auditors. The societies which can get their accounts audited through the certified auditors are notified in the Gazette.

Arbitrators: The District Deputy Registrar and Assistant Registrars act as arbitrators for deciding the disputes in respect of constitution, election of officers, conduct of business and management of societies in the district referred to them. Under the Maharashtra Co-operative Societies Act, 1960, the Divisional Joint Registrar is empowered to appoint persons to work as Registrar's nominees to whom the disputes can be referred for decision, in case the District Deputy Registrar or Assistant Registrar is not in a position to decide the disputes.

Money-lending: The salient features of the Bombay Moneylenders Act are licensing of money-lenders and maintenance of accounts by money-lenders in prescribed form. The powers are delegated under this Act to the District Deputy Registrar, Co-operative Societies, Sholapur.